034 – Deal

15:23

BenH: Hi, I have a business matter to talk to you about

15:55

BenH: It involves a nanoblade natural. You probably already know the situation

16:27

BenH: Thought you might be interested in someone who can burn people with their mind.

16:28

BenH: The governor wants to kill him, so…I dunno…I thought you might want him for something else

MadHarm: Yes

BenH: Yes?

MadHarm: I want him, and I want you.

BenH: Not me

MadHarm: Final offer. You and him. One time. Quadruple rate for both of you. Quintuple if you come somatic. You keep him for a week while I market the event

 

Boss grabbed the tab out of his hand. She read the messages. Its glowing screen set a blue cast to her face. She shrugged.

“I don’t see what the problem is,” Boss said.

“Well, besides the fact that we can’t trust Harmon,” said Rice.

“We don’t have any other choice,” said Zee. “Unless you plan on fighting Municipal on this. Which, if they’re backed by the governor, doesn’t seem like a good idea.”

Jun sighed. “Dude, it seems like my options are die horribly, or make a lot of money and possibly die horribly.” He shook his head. “Can’t I just…go, leave? You can say I overpowered you.”

“I doubt they’ll buy that,” said Rice, her voice grim.

“Dude, but there won’t be anything they can do about it,” said Jun. “I’ll be gone. What, are they going to kill all of you? I doubt they’d be able to do that so easily, man. You guys are sort of badass.”

Ben turned to Boss, who had remained quiet, staring at the tab screen. She glanced up at him from the texts. His shoulders slumped at the triumph in her eyes. She bent to the tab and began tapping the screen.

 

16:30

BenH: We accept your terms.

MadHarm: Wonderful. See you in a week. I’ll send along the details as I know them

 

“You’re not going anywhere,” Boss said to Jun. “Quintuple rate,” Boss said, gleefully. “For both of you.” She squirmed with excitement. “Zee work out a proper rate for our…partner.” She nodded at Jun. “We’ll extend the sublet until this is over. Rice, you’ll train them so they can fight without doing too much damage to each other.”

Ben sputtered in protest, but Rice spoke up first. “I’m sure you didn’t forget you’ll be paying me double,” she said quickly.

“Whatever,” said Boss, waving her hand dismissively.

“Er…triple?” said Rice.

Boss paused. “Don’t push it. Double is fine.” She grabbed Zee’s arm and pulled her along as she walked away.

“Where are we going?” asked Zee.

“To see if I can make this really pay,” she said.

 

Read the next chapter.

If you like what you’ve read, you can make a one time donation through PayPal or support me at Patreon. Your patronage gets you additional scenes, sketches, drafts, and notes. Your support will allow me to keep writing. Read the next chapter on Friday, April 22nd, 2016.

One thought on “034 – Deal

Leave a Reply

