Goal Pants

IMG_20151204_103050

The pants I aspire to wear
You hang there
taunting me
Among sweaters seldom seen
T-shirts from the last century
The shorts with the holes
that have a part of my soul
a map of my life in stains
the ice cream and green paint
And that black dress I hide
Only worn to say goodbye
The sleeves darkened with tears
Shoulders heavy with future fears

But these pants don’t fit well
And never will
Today they’ll be tossed
And I won’t feel like I’ve lost
Because all the uniforms I wear
are still there

Leave a Reply

