Laeta

Laeta

We are now the proud owners of a sailboat! The thought of it keeps catching me off guard at odd moments, and I just want to squeal with excitement. Laeta is a 29 foot Cal 29 with a 9-foot 3-inch beam. She is forty-one years old, but the only thing that tells her age is the upholstery.

For me the purchase of a sailboat represents the realization of a dream that has been obsessing me for over four years. It’s currently one of my longest running obsessions, second only to writing. Every day I would check the boat sale sites, searching for that boat with just the right qualifications: on the Great Lakes system, less than $5,000, between 25 and 30 feet, made of fiberglass, and able to be sailed without putting a ton of money into it. That doesn’t seem like a lot of requirements, but you’d be amazed at how hard it is to find one like that.

But where the boat is concerned, there is still so much to dream about. We’ve got to get to know our new boat, make her ours, fix her up a little. I want to learn everything about the boat, and I can’t wait to do it.

Leave a Reply

